Jul 8, 2017

The Political Capital… Washington

     The business of Washington is government. Unlike other great capitals of the world, Washington isn’t the financial nor the cultural, nor the commercial centre of its nation. It was designed and built for the sole purpose of being the seat of the Federal Government.
     George Washington himself chose the site, and both Maryland and Virginia gave land to establish the District of Columbia.
     Washington D.C., in fact, doesn’t belong to any particular state, but to all of them.
     The Capitol is the centre of the city. It’s in this building that the Congress of the United States meets to make the laws that govern the country.
Capitol Washington

     Each of the United States is self-governing in local matters and has its own constitution and governor, but gives the Federal Government of Washington the control of foreign affairs and if the military forces.
     The Congress is composed of two Houses: the Senate with two members for each state of the Union, and the House of Representatives. The Representatives are members of the two big political parties, the Democrats and the Republicans, and are proportional to the population of the respective states.
     The White House has been the home of the President of the United States for more than a century and a half. It’s in the offices of the White House that the President discharges his duty of Chief Executive, meets with his Cabinet, and signs or vetoes the legislation passed by Congress.  
     Source: R. Colle – I. Vay, L’esame di inglese, Lattes, an old Italian book 1974. 

No comments:

Post a Comment